## December 21, 1964 AGRICULTURAL LAND REFORM CODE

## AGRICULTURAL LAND REFORM CODE STAMPS (Republic Act No. 3844)

As a fitting memorial to the signing of the Agricultural Land Reform Code by President Diosdado Macapagal on August 8, 1963, the Bureau of Posts issues a set of stamps depicting the President in the act of affixing his signature to the bill.

These special issued stamps which have been printed in denominations of 3, 6 and 30 centavos, at quantities of 5,000,000, 13,000,000 and 2,000,000 respectively. The stamps are vertically composed, measure 22.5x37.9 mm, excluding marginal space, and heliogravure processed by Harrison and Sons Ltd, London in 4 colors. A typical farmer's community and a hand of a farmer holding a palay plant with a severed chain serve as the background on the stamps. Designed by philatelic artist Nemesio Dimanlig, Jr.

A part of the overall socio-economic program of President Macapagal is the promotion of improved agricultural development to alleviate the plight of the small farmers and give them a chance to be more independent and responsible citizens in order to strengthen the democratic society.

To this end, Republic Act No. 3844 was passed by Congress and approved by the President on August 8, 1963. It is an Act to ordain the agricultural land reform code and to institute land reforms in the Philippines, including the abolition of tenancy and the channeling of capital into industry, provide for the necessary implementing agencies, appropriate funds therefor and for other purposes. In short, this Act is known as the Agricultural Land Reform Code.

Under this Act we have the Agricultural Leasehold System, the Bill of Rights for Agricultural Labor, the Land Capability Survey and Classification requirements, and the creation of the different agencies whose responsibility is to carry out the policies anunciated in this Code, such as the Land Authority, thw Agricultural Credit Administration, the Agricultural Productivity Commission, the Land Reform Project Administration, the Courts of Agrarian Relations and the Office of Agrarian Counsel.



