July 4, 1961 15th ANNIVERSARY OF THE REPUBLIC

THE 15TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE INDEPENDENCE OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES (1946 - 1961)

At exactly 9:15 a.am., at the Luneta, on July 4, 1946, the Republic of the Philippines was proclaimed an independent country.

Inducted into office were Hon. Manuel Roxas and Hon. Elpidio Quirino as the first President and Vice President, respectively.

Pres. Roxas was succeeded by Pres. Elpidio Quirino who was later followed by the youthful, ill-fated Pres. Ramon Magsaysay. With the passing of Pres. Magsaysay, Hon. Carlos P. Garcia became the fourth President of the Republic.

Today, the Philippines under the able leadership of its fourth President, celebrates the 15th anniversary of its Independence. On July 4, 1946, among the dignitaries who witnessed the launching of the Republic was General Douglas MacArthur. After 15 years, this great friend of the Filipino people returns to join in the ceremonies commemorating this historical event.

Rizal, our foremost hero, wrote:

"I die without seeing the dawn brighten over my native land!

You who have it to see, welcome it .. and forget not those who have fallen during the night!"

The dawn that he spoke of is the liberty that we had attained, the independence which we commemorate today. We welcomed it and now it is for us to cherish and preserve.

On this occasion, the Bureau of Posts presents two overprinted postage stamps which bear the Tagalog inscription IKA-15 KAARAWAN NG REPUBLIKA NG PILIPINAS. HULYO 4, 1961. This marks the second time, since the Japanese occupation, that Tagalog is again used on a Philippine postage stamp.



